God. Damn.
Sigh...
Expenses -15
Win/Loss -49
Total = -64
That's just gross. I'm really at a point that I just don't know the right way to explain it. Am I really running THAT bad? Am I really playing THAT bad? There's no way I'm making greater and more frequent mistakes than the rest of the players, yet lately live I see to be one of the bottom two people at the table. I might have lost the most tonight...
I won a total of three pots all night. Two were very small; definitely in the top five smallest pots of the evening. The other was a medium sized pot. I lost every big pot. I think I bet/raised and then had to fold what was the best hand on the previous street four times tonight, being correct every time. I did make a somewhat thin call on a fifth hand and lost.
In one hand I had top two which I gave up on the worst river card in the deck and was shown two flushes. I flopped the nut straight and easily folded without putting any more money in to what was obvious a boat. I folded Aces up on the River to a guy who lead out on the flush card and was called. Finally, one guy goes all in for just 4bbs, gets 3 callers, I pick up AQs and decided to squeeze and run it heads up for the dead money. I raise to 20bbs. Now, compared to everyone else who plays 80% of hands, I am by far the tightest player at the table, and I hear that plenty. And yet in some universe 2 gappers and A-rag are good enough to call against a hand I would re-raise with in that game. Don't get me wrong. I love the terrible calls. Love them. What I despise is how often they get rewarded for it. Guy calls me with Q9. Awful call for him. I have AQ, that's great for me. But of course he gets rewarded for it. We both turn a Q, he bets, I call. He was not only dominated, now he's dead to three outs. Of course the nine rolls off on the River and I make a call for about a third the pot which was very big now from the 4-way preflop action.
It's not that it happened; it's that this sort of thing has been happening CONSTANTLY lately. It was only a drop in the bucket, but that buckets starting to get full. I don't remember the last time I won in a situation where I dominated the other player. Guys are calling me with A9 or A4 when I have AK, and lately have always had two pair if I paired the Ace. If not for being behind to dominated hands, I'd just miss completely. Why is it so hard to punish someone for calling big bets with crushed hands? It's like they defy the laws of poker physics. I forget why calling a preflop raise is bad with A7o after watching these guys rake in chips.
If you can't tell, I'm pretty frustrated with it. I'm really tired of seeing these things and guys raking in chips after playing hands so horrendously, making bonehead mistakes and calls that can never be good, drawing to three outs, and getting rewarded for their play while my stack is withering away.
I don't know. I don't know if I am running bad or playing that bad. I miss so many flops, miss every draw, and lose every hand I raise. I can't think of any major mistakes I'm making. I'm not calling with bad TPs, gutshots, FD's on paired boards, dominated or just super junky preflop hands. Mistakes I'm making have to be post-flop and can't be that huge.
Poker really fucks with your mind sometimes. I just wish I could live in their universe.

0 comments:
Post a Comment